Aligning Images Without Using a Rotator

Hello SGP users. I’m New to the software but not new to Astrophotography. I am asking this question because I am considering purchasing a rotator. I have had rotators in the past but always hated the added complexity of this “luxury” (weight, cables, backfocus, adapters etc… ). Before I make my purchase I would like to know how you would align a new sequence to a previous image. I try very hard not to change the angle of my camera since it takes some time to get it back to the original position. A rotator would make this effortless but in my world it is a pain in the fanny especially with winter fast approaching. I have been using CCD Autopilot and this has a feature which makes it somewhat simple. You call up the image in The SkyX and plate solve it. That places a purple FOV indicator on your screen. From CCD Autopilot you can take an image and it downloads and links to the SkyX and places a Plate Solved image over the FOV. You simply compare the FOV box with the Plate Solve box and you can compare the two. Recently I was at the Black Forest Star Party and a friend of mine was using APT. This has a feature that allowed you to make a mask from the previous image. The mask would mark the bright stars with a circle. You can then take a new image and rotate the field so the bright stars fall into the circles on the mask. I thought this was even better than CCD Autopilot. How would I accomplish this in SGP? Help save me some $$$$$. Thank you for your time.

Anthony

Anthony,
You’ll want to use the “Manual Rotator”

To get the reference data from a previously acquired image:

• Open a previously acquired image in SGP.
  • Create a new target in SGP (or if it’s an empty sequence skip this)
  • Right click on the image and select to Plate Solve it.
  • A dialog will pop up asking if you’d like to set this solve as a reference for one of your targets. Select the check box and select the target.