Automated meridian flip

I am brand new to SGP and have been reading about the automated meridian flip routine. I make use of a camera rotator and when doing a manual meridian flip, I always rotate the camera 180 degrees as part of that process. The SGP (2.3.15) documentation does not mention camera rotation as part of the automated meridian flip, so I was wondering if camera rotation is part of the process?

Charlie Miller

Not currently, although we may add in in a future release. The issue is that PHD would likely need to recalibrate or be aware of the rotation as well.

However one of the PHD2 authors has also mentioned wanting this behavior so I would assume that he can/has added support to PHD2.

Thanks,
Jared

That work has already been done and rotator support has been added to PHD2 :smile: I haven’t published a build with the feature yet, but I can do that now if you want to give it a try.

Andy

I would be happy to test the camera rotation feature in PHD2. Let me know what I need to do.

Charlie Miller
acf900gto@gmail.com

Hi Charlie,

I believe you have the Pyxis LE, right? (I saw you post recently about the LE in the the QSI yahoo group).

There is a problem with the Optec ASCOM drivers in that they only allow connections from a single app at a time. If SGP is connected to the rotator, then you will not be able to connect to the rotator in PHD2. I brought this issue to Optec’s attention and they are currently working on fixing their ASCOM drivers.

In the meantime, I wrote an ASCOM driver of my own to control the Pyxis 2" and 3" rotators (I have a 2") which supports concurrent connections from SGP and PHD2. This new driver will not work with your LE. I contacted Optec to get the LE command protocol and when I get this I will update my ASCOM driver to support your LE. I’ll let you know when that is done so you can do some testing.