CCD Question - QSI/SBIG

Hello all - I love SGP and I use it to control my Celestron CGEM mount, autoguiding, and Canon T3i camera in my current setup. I am, however, saving up for a better setup - a monochrome CCD with LRGB and narrowband filters. Autoguiding will still be through a separate guide scope because I have a short focal length and my guiding is solid.

I am considering two models - the SBIG STF-8300M and the QSI 683ws. When weighing the various differences between the cameras, I need to also consider whether the software I use - SGP - will actually work with them. Being popular cameras, it is my assumption that it will, but I wanted to hear from users that have actually used these cameras with SGP and find out how well they work, and if there are any special considerations that would make me want to consider one option over the other.

Thank you and clear skies!

I use the QSI683-wsg8 with integral OAG; I have no experience of the SBIG ccd to be able to comment.

The QSI works seemlessly and flawlessly with SGP and is a justifiably very popular ccd. I tick the option to pause guding when using AF as the guider focus changes as well as the ccd. No issues with using PHD2. Superb ccd, just look around the web and see how many highly regarded images are taken with the QSI683.

You shouldn’t have any problem with either camera. I used an STF-8300 for a while. Early on I had some disconnection problems, but that turned out to be a SBIG driver issue that has long since been resolved. After that it was smooth sailing with SGP.

Given the choice I would probably opt for QSI. I’ve not used one myself but I would be attracted to the more integrated package. The one issue I can see is if you don’t start out with an OAG package it may not be as easy to update later to the QSI OAG faceplate. Barry, can you shed some light on this?