Celestron SCT 800 setup compatibility

Sorry if this is the wrong way to ask as I am new to this forum. I have a Celestron SCT 800 with dual forks, a Starizona Hyperstar, a ZWO AS1294MC Cooled camera, Celestron StarSense and a Celestron motorised focus adjuster. I am using a Lenovo laptop with Windows 10 installed. Will your software work for my setup and do I require any additional equipment to use your software?

Hi NigelB,
I guess you are a beginner who wants to get a toe in the water for astrophotography.
The kit you describe should in theory be able to do limited astrophotgraphy and use SGP.
You do not mention a wedge and without that you will be operating the scope in Alt Az mode and field rotation will start to blur your images after 15 to 20 seconds.
With a hyperstar that may be enough to get some spectacular images. Multiple images can be stacked and the field rotation allowed for in the stacking.

Chris,

many thanks for the quick response. Yes I am a beginner and I was driven down the route of astrophotography because you cannot see much of the spectacular sights in the heavens with the naked eye. I do also have the wedge for my SCT so that will also help with my pictures. Once my Hyperstar arrives I will definitely be purchasing the SGP software then. Many thanks again.

Stay Safe

Best regards Nigel Buckland

You may need a guide scope since OAG may not be possible with Hyperstar.

You should not have issues with SGP. You need to install appropriate ASCOM drivers for your mount and camera.

ASCOM Platform 6.4SP1: https://ascom-standards.org/

Celestron Unified (6.1.7350, Feb 2020) Telescope & Focuser: Telescope/Mount Drivers

To name a few.

Peter

I don’t think it will be because with the camera in front of the scope too much of the scope will be covered with guide cameras.

However with Hyperstar the exposures required will be short and the plate scale large so guiding may not be required.

What I suggest: