Cellestron AVX mount with SGPro

Dear all,

I’m a very new beginner trying to play around the SGPro (just purchase it today), I’m trying to find out how to connect my Cellestron AVX mount with SGPro. I used to connect the mount though the guiding camera for PHD2 guiding, now I want to use the SGPro to srew and center the target, I select ‘Generic Hub’ for the Telescope field and it does show connected, but when I try to center the target the SGPro says ‘Slew failed! Illegal operation while parked’. Does anyone know how I should fix this?

Thank you very much!

Airdrop

Hi. You must to install Ascom driver for Celestron mount.
https://www.ascom-standards.org/Downloads/ScopeDrivers.htm

Hello iosif,

Thank you! I’ll try this out, but I’m guessing that I don’t even have the mount connected with the computer correctly in physical. The current connection is the computer talk to the guiding scope, and from guiding scope connect to the mount into the auto guide port, I’m not sure this is the right connection. I google it and find people also talk about using USB to Serial cable and then Serial to RJ11 cord to connect through hand control of the mount, I’m ordering these cables as well.

Thanks again.

Airdrop

Hi iosif, I have installed the Ascom driver as you suggested and I’m happy that I now see a ‘Celestron Telescope Driver’ option available on the dropdown list in SGP, but I can’t see the mount in the computer equipment management panel though I do see the guiding scope there, so I beleive the physical connection between the computer and the mount is not correct. I’ll wait for the cables to come and see if that will may any difference.

thanks.

Airdrop

Airdrop,

I believe I can help as I have the same AVX mount. It’s pretty simple once you understand the connection flow and get the one time setup done.

1. Get the Celestron ASCOM drivers and install (I believe you have now done this.)