Center here oddity, Kentucky Windage

Hello all,

First let me say, this is not another post about ‘Center Here not working, please fix’. I am using a Celestron mount, have pre-read the forums, and understand there is an issue with the ‘Center Here’ functionality related to Celestron mounts. That being said, it actually does appear to be trying to work which has lead me to using it in an odd way and I am really just writing in here in the hopes of finding out ‘why’ it is working this way. I am fairly new to all this and so it is also very likely I am missing something and I am hoping someone might shed some light on this. On with the show…

Equipment: Celestron 8", AVX Mount with Hyperstar, Atik 428ex camera.

After a solve/sync, most of the time the DSO will be in the 4th quadrant on the screen. When I first started using SGP and would try to do a ‘Center Here’, the object would go off the screen. I quickly noticed when it went off the screen it would always go the same amount down on the Y axis and right on the X axis. (Staying away from N,S,E,W to hopefully make it less confusing). Since this was repeatable, I tried to do a Center Here in an area that was exactly opposite the objects actual location across the X,Y axis. (Up and Left) Low and behold it worked! It put the object very close, if not dead center in the center of the cross hairs. See diagram.