Error restarting the guider after auto focus

Every now and then, I have an issue with PHD2 losing the star after a lengthy auto focus. During the unguided autofocus, the guiding star drifts outside the search area and PHD sends a “Star lost” error. This instantly sends SGP in recovery mode. The issue is exacerbated by the fact that when recovering, SGP will restart the whole process, including the auto focus, throwing everything into an endless loop (center target → stop guiding → auto focus → start guiding → star lost → recovery → go to step 1).

In the attached log this happens shortly after 22:55:22.

sg_logfile_20180507185735.zip (154.6 KB)

The issue would be solved if SGP would tell PHD to acquire a guiding star every time when it restarts guiding. Asking in the PHD forum, I learned that there are more ways to programmatically stop guiding in PHD. Quoting from Andy’s answer:

It would be very useful to have SGP using always the method c.

Kind regards,
Horia

2 Likes

This happened to me for the first time last week. I have an STL-11000 and the slow download speeds even at 2x2 (combined with my focuser’s woes) can make for lengthy autofocus routines through no fault of SGP. However, my mount is an AP1100 with the absolute encoders so there’s no reason the guide star shouldn’t have been “close enough” when it came time to reacquire it. In fact, it has never had a problem before. The only thing that had changed was an upgrade to the latest version of PHD2. It kept selecting a guide star near the edge of the image and it then had trouble reacquiring it. Have you recently upgraded to the newest version of PHD2? If so (or even if not) was it selecting a star near the edge of the field?

I can not tell when it first happened and if it is linked to a specific version of PHD or SGP. I have seen it live happening with the actual PHD 2.6.5 and with the previous PHD 2.6.4-Dev10. My SGP is at 3.0.1.0.