Fast download is active @ 1x1 in 2.4 beta 2

Hi,

I don’t know how to submit a bug report. Is there an specific section for submitting 2.4 beta bug reports?

Yesterday installed the latest beta v2.4.0.2618 after updating PHD2 from 2.3 to 2.4 everything run smooth. However I found some strange bloom-like artifacts around bright stars. I thought that my camera has fried, however I took a couple if images with Maxim and everything looked fine.

AFAIK fast download is only active for frame and focus and not for capturing, but AFAICT fast download was active in capture mode.

Long story short, after unchecking the fast download option from the camera tab the artifact disappeared.

Cheers,

Jose

This is not a bug in SGPro. We force the speed back to normal prior to all sequence images.

image.speed = Image.ImageDownloadSpeed.NORMAL;

If this is an issue for your camera, it is likely an issue in the ASCOM driver.

Ken,

I’ve been shooting with SGP for 11 months or so and this issue is new, the problem showed up right after upgrading to 2.4, I have images of the same sequence with 2.3 and 2.4 and the issue is evident right after the upgrade.

CS,

Jose

What brand and model is your camera?

Peter

I’m not sure we’ll be able to help you here. I have reviewed the area of code affected by fast download and it is identical in 2.3 and 2.4. I also reviewed the logic manually and verified that ASCOM cameras always reset the image speed prior to taking sequence and AF images. There are no alternate paths. Are you using an ASCOM camera?

Peter,

I am using an ATIK 460EX connected as ASCOM camera.

Cheers,

Jose

Ken,

Yes, I am using an ASCOM camera (Atik 460EX).