Focusing - Difference in binning?

I am new to auto focus and have found the following - I wonder if anyone can shed any light on it.

I am using the beta version as I believe this had a better focusing routine. When I auto focus I find I get the following difference in my focusing poinn when using different binning methods.

1x1 bin -3921
2x2 bin -3905
3x3 bin - 3906
4x4 bin - 3899

These have been run consectuviely, each using the luminance filter, 8s exposure and 40 steps and at the same temperature. I have found that when the moon is full I am needing to up the binning in order to focus, but the difference here concerns me.

Can anyone explain the difference and why it’s there? I can say that according to the B mask and B grabber the figure of 3921 is accurate. So how can i get accurate focus during a moon?

I look forward to hearing some ideas.

There are many factors that can affect focus. You don’t mention what equipment you are using so it’s hard to know exactly, but I suspect that the different focus points are still within the critical focus zone. A difference of only 22 steps may not really affect the focus, if it’s within the range of the CFZ.

I’m using an 8"RC, While the focus may be in the CFZ, it’s not acceptably good (for example I can get it much less than +30 in grabber and this is roughly what SGP gives me) - An image is all about focus and there IS a big difference between a focus just within the CFZ and really nailed. SGP never seems to nail it for me - always about 20microns out.

Since binning can make the stars look brighter, you might want to reduce exposure times when you change binning (from 1x1 to 2x2 to 3x3 to 4x4). Over saturating stars can result fewer unsaturated stars for SGP to select. I don’t believe SGP uses saturated stars to measure the star sizes during auto focus run.

Are you focusing on a single bright star or a star field?

Peter