Help migrating from Astrotortilla to plate solving with SGP

Hi, I’m new to SGP have downloaded the trial today. I’m trying to understand how to configure plate solving. I have used AstroTortilla for a few years and find that pretty straight forward, so I thought using ansvr might be the simpliest way to go, but the help section on SGP seems to want me to use either Pinpoint, Elbrus or PlateSolve 2 with Astrometry.Net being configured as a blind solver as back up when one of those fails. Can I use Astrometry.Net local solver as my primary plate solver and if yes, can I use the already installed indexes used by Astrotortilla? I can’t find any simple set up steps in the SGP help files and when I click on the settings button on the Plate Solve Options screen it takes me to a page http://127.0.0.1:8080/api/config which my browser reports it cannot connect. What am I doing wrong please and where do I need to look to work this out? Regards, Geof

1 Like

best way is to set up PS2 as the primary and astrometry.net or ansvr as the backup. i think you can use ansvr as the primary solver but it’s been so long now since i switched to PS2/ansvr i can’t remember if ansvr can be configured as the primary.

ansvr is just another wrapper for astrometry.net’s solver programs (solve-field / backend) and so the indices that you already have will work fine. heck for a while i had the indicies installed on my mac, then shared the folder with my windows 7 VMWare VM and pointed both AT and ansvr to those indicies. there’s going to be a “backend.cfg” file that’s part of ansvr, and in that file you can set up the location of the index files. my observatory computer is shut down so i can’t look at the configuration this second or else i’d give more details.

is ansvr installed? http://localhost:8080/api/config is where the configuration page of ansvr will live when the ansvr web service is running.

rob

Thanks Rob,