Is the HFD algorithm FUBAR?

I’m fairly new with SGP but have read a ton and sanity check my settings against the official documentation of SGP… I’m using smart AF with an ASI1600 (native drivers) 2x2 binning, 16px star detect size and 8-10sec exposure times and a step size of 200. My ring is in focus around the 2350 mark, I usually move the focus to 2250-2300 and start the AF routing… I’ll say I’ve got a 80% ratio of focusing successfully, when it is a success I see a perfect almost linear v-curve when it’s not I see random jumps on the sides of the v-curve which mess the overall HFR interpolation.

Even worse is when you’re at focus and run the AF again just for the kick of it… and it screws it up and starts moving to ranges like 2500 and more.

Look at what the algorithm thinks it is a 19.5 HFR image:

OK this is the worst example I’ve gotten so far but it illustrates the issue… but SGP either:

• Does not detect the out-of-focus star donuts,
  • (or) Detects a couple of non existing stars as 1.2 HFR on a overall image with 8 HFR resulting in a screwed-up v-curve.

I can’t really tell what’s going on or what am I doing wrong, but at first sight it seems that a user customizable outlier removal would help a bit as the star size in pixels is not helpful enough.

I’ve tried building a dark lib… but didn’t had enough time to test it, but from last night I would say that it improved a bit but far from reliable.

Here is another example:

Points 1-6 were complete nonsense, only at step 7 SGP was able to detect the out of focus star donut.

Are you starting with a point that you know is in focus or close to it visually? If not, the system can and will get confused. In my experience, just going to a focus number to start is not adequate - one must do a manual focus at the start of the night.

Why don’t you post an image of a good graph so we know what good is for you.
Also, what scope, FL.