Moravian Cameras and SGP

Anyone using a Moravian camera with SGP? Any issues? I am looking to get a 16200 based camera to supplement my STT 8300 and QSI 6120 and after much searching, the only affordable version that will also work with a Canon lens (due to back focus) is the Moravian (and yes, I know that I will need to crop the edges due to edge distortion on the lenses - so don’t bother to “educate” me).

Mainly it will be used on a scope (FSQ and/or TOA-130) with their OAG and a Starlight guider.

Thanks

I’ve been using a G3-16200 for nearly 2 years now and have had absolutely
no issues whatsoever with the camera or SGP. The only thing you need to
know about the Moravian ASCOM driver is that when you tell SGP to change
filters, the filter will not actually change until an exposure is called
for (frame and focus or sequence event). Not a big deal and it’s a
property of the ASCOM driver, not SGP.

Super Joel! Great to hear! What are you using for a guider?

Lodestar. Note that I used an Atik OAG for the past 2 years and recently
switched to a QHY OAG. But that shouldn’t make any difference for you.

Thanks for all the feedback. I ordered one in December and just heard from DSP that it has shipped from Europe. I should have it next week.

I guess you could say that the Czech is in the mail! :wink:

Congrats, you’re going to love the camera. The only thing you won’t love about it is the 30s download times :sob:

Recently I had the opportunity to test a QHY128C CMOS camera with a view of directly comparing it with my G3-16200M. They both have 6um pixel size (5.97 for the QHY) so I was wondering how they would compare. While the QHY128C is a great camera and I enjoyed using it, the data from my G3 is so much easier to process. I don’t think this is necessarily because of the camera, but rather from my moderately light polluted skies the mono camera fared a little better.

Well, I used to own an SBIG 11000M and that was worse!:grin: