Nebula rejection

Is there any way in the latest SGP version to apply an element of nebula rejection? The bright core of M106 is being picked up in star selection and messes up the AF routine.
Many thanks for the help.

Richie,

I am new to SGP–switching over from Maxim so take what I say with a quarry full of salt, but is there no way to select a subframe for AF? I was under the impression that one can choose an area (or number of stars) to use for AF. am I wrong?

Rodd

Are you talking about when the auto focus is running or when you are using manual focus. To my knowledge you cannot set a subframe once you begin the run sequence on Auto Focus.

Hi Rodd
Not come across a sub frame selector and not sure how that would work for auto-focus. I love SGP but can’t get a consistent result.It’s not far away, but further than I can set manually, which defeats the purpose.

I was under the impression that you could define the FOV parameters for autofocus, either by drawing a box or defining pixel locations. I guess not huh? Can you define the number of stars used? Or select a star? If so, that might help. If not. I may be in trouble too. i too and switching over from Maxim and I too only manual focus now using a digital stepper motor and a hand paddle–to pretty good effect. The problem is I have to slew to a star which I don’t like to do because then i have to manually frame the target again. But with SGP’s framing functions and tap the screen to center “here” function, maybe I will just stick with manual. It would be cool to focus on FOV though–save allot of time
Rodd

Rodd
Happy to be corrected, but I’ve come across no buttons that allow you to select stars other than limiting the FOV to rule out bad stars at the edges. There’s a pixel chooser that allows you to weed out bad pixels in the AF routine, but that’s it as far as I can see. Anyone else chime in?
Richie