New User -- Focus and Alignment Stars

Newbie here… in my existing manual workflow I first slew to a bright star with either the Gemini hand controller or through CdC. This gives me something to focus on and sych my pointing model.

One transition problem I am having is how to migrate this process into SGP? I can find a bright star in framing wizard but don’t see any way to get the scope to slew to it unless I generate a sequence for it – then how do I manually adjust focus? Once past this initial setup the rest seems clear. So curious as to how this should be done.

Thanks for any advice.

greg latiak

Hi Greg,

Since you are new to SGPro so I’m not sure if you have everything setup up in SGPro using the Equipment Profile Manger" but that might be the first place to start to ensure you have all of your equipment properly configured for SGPro using the Equipment Profile Manager. This can be found under the “Tools” Menu. Also you’ll need to have the Plate Solver configured if you’re wanting to do a sync with SGPro.

Here’s my workflow for how I get things going and focused. Your workflow will be different depending on the mount you use and the other equipment/software you use but this might give you an idea on where to start.

1. Power up computer, Mount, Focuser, Rotator and Cameras - Guide and Image cameras
  2. Start NexRemote and do a “Quick” align. No need for a model. With a good polar alignment let SGPro do the go to and sync.
  3. Do Polar Alignment if needed. I used QHY Polemaster
  4. Start SGPro and select either a sequence that will be used for that night or simply apply the correct “Equipment Profile” that matches the equipment. This apply equipment profile can be found under the “File” menu.
  5. Start Stellarium Scope and Stellarium, (Planetarium). You use CdC so however that works and connects to your mount.