Optec Gemini Focuser & Rotator

Does SGP support the duality of the Optec Gemini Focuser and Rotator?

1 Like

@johnnyK

The Optec Gemini Focusing-Rotator works just fine with SGP. I have been using mine for about 18 months. Since the Gemini has built-in temperature compensation, I allow my Gemini to make continuous focus adjustments. I do not enable TC inside SGP.

Charlie

thanks for the info

I have been using the Gemini for the last several weeks with SGP. I am having some difficulties with the rotator meeting my criterion for <2 degrees. In fact in some runs the best it has been able to do is around 16 degrees.
Could you share your settings or methodology to let me use the rotator more affectively
Thanks

@johnnyK

If you are talking about my SGP settings:

I have the rotator positioning set to 0.2 degrees, which has not been a problem. The Gemini rotator has 6 arc seconds / step, so it can be set pretty accurately. I rarely see more than two attempts needed to meet my centering criteria.

I image with two different scopes (2440mm fl and 680mm fl) but I don’t change the centering criteria when I change scopes.

Charlie

@johnnyK

Your issue sounds like the issue i had when I first stared using the Optec Pyxis Rotator. The reverse direction was checked in the Optec ASCOM driver. I believe it was not in SGP but in the Optec Pyxis ASCOM driver configuration files. what I found is that you DO NOT want any reverse direction checked in either SGPro or Pyxis ASCOM for the Optec rotator. Once I fixed that in my setup I’ve never had any other issues with the rotator. Not sure if this is what your issue is as your rotator is a different model.

Mark

Thanks for the feed back.
My Gemini keeps moving and never seems to get to the proper position during the plate solve.
Do you set the rotator to a position for startup in the initial setup “set rotator to positon” or ignore that input?