Problems of a new beginner

I am a new beginner with SGP, last night being the first time to try this software. I had some basic problems and was not able to find the answers in the manual, so I put my questions here. Please have patience.

I focused my refractor using my motor focus and a Bahtinov mask with Frame and Focus (Take One), checked “Save to disk” in Frame and Focus and checked “Enable image history” in Image history.

1. What can I do with the arrows <- and -> on the left side of the bar just above the image? These arrows were grey and not usable.
  2. The saved images initially have the file date (the date which is shown in the Windows Explorer) of the actual time when they were saved. On opening such an image, SGP changes the file date. Why does this happen?
  3. In the saved images the FITS keywords "DATE-OBS and “DATE-LOC” were set to 0001-01-01T00:00:00. Why?

Because of 2) and 3) I lost the information at which time these images were taken when I re-opened the images.

Bernd

I would appreciate to get an answer to my questions.

To my opinion, the items 2) and 3) of my post are bugs in SGP (v.2.6.0.23). The false data in the FITS keywords “DATE-OBS” and “DATE-LOC” are in the focus images that were saved under C:\FrameAndFocus.

Bernd

Not sure about 2 but as you say the modified date is changed. The file creation date isn’t. SGP seems to modify the file but with no changes to the data, except the order of some things in the header.
For (3) this data is read from the camera and SGP doesn’t modify it.

It sounds like you’re using the frame and focus module to take images and save them for processing? I would not recommend doing that. Instead use the sequencer to setup a sequence of images which will also complete all of the FITS headers. The frame and focus module is made primarily to identify the object or to manually focus. Not to capture images which you plan to process later.

Thanks,
Jared

Hi Chris and Jared,