Problems with ansvr & PlateSolve2

First let me say I’m a complete newb at this. The only “plate solving” I’ve ever done is direct uploading an image to Astrometry.net to see what was in my FOV. I’ve just downloaded SGPro as a demo and really want to try and get the plate solving feature working. My first attempt was to install ansvr. It seems to install correctly but can’t connect to download the astrometry files. It probably has something to do with port 8080 not being open because I didn’t change any of the recommended install settings. And I can’t figure out how to change the port settings or open port 8080.
So then I decided to try and install PlateSolve2 and I click on the download link and I’m taken to a notice page that planewave.com has failed to renew their domain name.
So at this point I’m kinda stuck and my 45-day trial is ticking down.
Any suggestions?

Don’t install a stand alone Plate Solve 2. Plate Solve 2 is already built-in SGP. Uninstall Plate Solve 2 or conflicts may happen.

Peter

OK, that’s good to know. But as you can see I did NOT install anything for PlateSolve2 but the help file for SGPro says you have to go to the planewave website to download the catalogs. So there’s still a problem as the website appears to be down.

Sorry about the mis-understanding. Yes, you need to install catalogs from Planewave as soon as their web site is up and running.

Once you get the catalogs, you will have to one more simple step in SGP/PlateSolve2 is to tell SGP/PlateSolve2 exactly where the catalogs are stored on your computer.

Whoa!!! I tried going to www.planewave.com and it said the domain name has expired!!! Is Planewave out of business?

Peter

I think he just forgot to renew the domain name. He’s got about 38 days to fix it.