Proper Setup SGP and PHD with CEM60

A Little Background
I have been following the discussions on the CEM60 Meridian flip issues over the past few months. After iOptron released version 4 of their ASCOM driver and seeing others have had success with the new iOptron firmware and ASCOM driver, I decided to upgrade my CEM60 firmware to the latest versions and install the ASCOM 4.0 driver. At the same time I installed PHD2 version 2.5.

I am new to SGP so I am still working on getting everything setup correctly. I did an initial run about a week ago. My plate solving worked, along with guiding and imaging; although I had balance and cable hanging issues that ruined the images. However, I considered the evening a success because my primary objective was to get Astrometry.net working and run a simple imaging sequence. I did not attempt anything that required a meridian flip.

Now for my Question
I have been looking through the PHD2 options (Brain) and see that under the Mount tab one of the options is: Reverse Dec Output after meridian flip. Should I check this option when allowing SGP to perform a meridian flip? I am assuming the answer is Yes, but I am not sure because I really don’t fully understand what things SGP tells PHD after the meridian flip. Also, is there a way to force PHD to re-calibrate after a meridian flip?

I’m hoping for some clear skies in the next day or two so I should have a chance to try out my latest balance and cable routing setup along with any changes I need to make to my PHD setup.

Thanks in advance,

Fred

1 Like

Probably not. I would leave it as is and if you find that your Dec correction is wrong after the flip then you may need to enable it. However most drivers tend to take this into account when the flip happens.