QSI 683wsg w/Integrated Guider Port

Hi:

I have been using SGP for several years but with the SBIG STT8300. Given the changes at SBIG, I am no longer sanguine about buying SBIG so am considering a QSI 683wsg w/Integrated Guider Port for a third camera to go to a remote site. I assume that more than a few here are using that or similar QSI.

I would be interested in impressions as to how well it works with SGP.

I would be using an Sti that i already have for a guide camera…

Thanks

I believe @Ken uses that exact camera. I know it’s a 683 variant, but I can’t recall if his has the guide port or if he’s using a separate OAG.

Jared

How about the Sony based 690 or 6120? Anyone using those? I am seeing that the 683 is being discontinued…

I use the QSI 6120…but just the base model…not WSG. No problems between it and SGP.

Good to know! Thanks. I would be using an STi that I already have with the guide port so that should not be an issue as that is direct selected in PhD

I am using QSI660wsg and love it. OAG works great with my SX Ultrastar. Ultrastar is perfect for QSI OAG.

Peter

I use the QSI 683 WSG with the STi guide camera. All good!

Charlie

is QSI making a 16200-based camera yet? is that the 6120?

Nope. 6120 is a Sony CCD chip.

http://www.qsimaging.com/6120-overview.html

Peter

Just curious, where are you seeing the 8300 being discontinued? Is that for QSI specifically?

I have been using the STT8300 with the internal guider via the SGP API. I used to have a problem with communication while taking lots of fast exposures, but that was resolved by a combination of SGP and SBIG updates. Of late it has been a rock solid combination.

Recently, I acquired a QSI690 with wSG 8 and an original Lodestar for guider. First light was a few nights ago, but I was able to successfully run over 8 hours of acquisition time without interruption. So, at least for me this combination seems terrific.