SBIG ST8300M + STi for autoguiding

Hello

I am a newbie and I am sure this has been answered before but I am unable to find it in the forum.

I have a SBIG ST8300M main camera with a 8 position FW. I use a SBIG STi camera for autoguding.

I am able to connect to my main camera & FW properly.

When I use the SGP API in PHD2, how do I tell PHD2 that the SGP API needs to connect to the STi autoguider?

After selecting the SGP API as the camera in PHD2, when I try to loop it gives an error saying SGP API ASCOM device not connected.

Please help.

Shailesh Trivedi

Hi Shailesh,

The SGP API Guider is required for the SBIG dual-chip cameras. Since you have a separate guide camera you don’t need to go through the SGP API Guider interface. You can select SBIG Camera in PHD2 and you are good to go.

Hi Andy,

I tried that and it did not work.

How do I let PHD2 know which SBIG camera to use? The ST 8300M is assigned to the main SGPro camera and at that time, I do get a dialog that asks me to choose between ST8300M and STi.

Shailesh

Click here to select which SBIG camera to connect to:

More info available in the PHD2 User Guide - Equipment Connection section.

Hi Andy

Yes I tried that, and it only asks for whether to pick USB or LPTx or Ethernet or some other interface.

Shailesh

Hello Shailesh, I have the same issue with my STF8300C and Sti camera and getting same results as you. I asked the question to the forum 29 days ago with no response. I think the problem is with how SBIG configures their cameras. I go through gymnastics connecting both cameras up when I use Images Plus camera control and PHD2. I am waiting for a friend to let me borrow his Starlight guider and feel by having a different brand the issue will go away. I am a beginner with SGP also. Al Johnson

AAJohnson,

I found a solution to this. Please see my other post as of today, Sept 12, 2018. This may help you.

Shailesh