SGP and observatory control - recommendations wanted

I think lugging my PMX about has given me a hernia. My better half says I can have an observatory. :heart_eyes:

I have very little experience with these but Iā€™m trending towards a circular / dome variety (like Pulsar in the UK). Any recommendations on a dome control system that works well with SGP for trouble-free automatic dome positioning during slews, meridian flips and long sequences? I think Pulsar use the LesveDome system and I did see some earlier posts which suggest some issues.

Any help will be appreciated.

1 Like

Hi Chris,

Cant comment on what works best control wise with SGP as I opted for a ROR observatory from this lot (http://www.homeobservatoryuk.com/) more like an outbuilding than a shed, as this fitted in better with my situation here and less complexity in setup. Also like the access to the whole sky and the quicker cool down. I did seriously consider a Scopedome (http://www.scopedome.com/en/default.aspx), with euro rate and buying direct from the manufacturer is was par with fully automated local options. A friend did just that and had his installed over the summer and intends to use it with SGP but various unrelated issues has held up a fully linked up run but I have been though the software and run basic tests which all worked fine.

Cheers

Trevor

Many thanks Trevor - I followed up on the links - the Norfolk ones look just perfect and my wife can grow flowers around it and pretend it is a shed. Did you put a motor on it and link it to SGP at all?