Slewing and Focusing with an H-Alpha Filter

I’m relatively new to Sequence Generator Pro, but I absolutely love it. I have it doing automatic slewing, photography, and focusing. I am using a filter-modded Canon T3i camera as my imaging camera. While I save the RGB frames for dark sites, I enjoy taking additional hydrogen-alpha frames using an Astronomik 6nm clip filter.

The bad thing about using an H-Alpha filter is that it significantly reduces the brightness of the frame and, as a consequence, the number of visible stars. This has led to two significant issues:

1. When doing plate solving, I must do much longer exposure times in order to capture enough stars. Even 90 seconds at ISO 3200 hasn’t been enough. And since SGP doesn’t offer the option to guide while taking a plate solve frame, sometimes my stars are trailed.

2. During the focus routines, longer exposures are necessary as well, but I seem to be limited to 100 seconds. It does seem to be working somewhat, but I can’t really tell if it is focusing on stars or noise due to the high ISO setting.

Can anybody make any suggestions on settings to use in this configuration? I lost three hours of sleep last night trying various things (unsuccessfully), and ended up shutting everything down and just doing dark frames. I’m hoping someone on this forum uses the same or similar setup and can offer some guidance.

Thank you!

Just learning SGP myself (lots of experience with other SW) and as far as I know there is no built-in way to do this with manual filters. With a software controlled filter wheel you just use a focus offset and focus with a clear or no filter.