Use target coordinates for auto-center after pier flip

I thought someone already requested this but I can’t find it.
It would be very helpful to have the ability to skip the initial, pre-flip plate solve and use a target’s coordinates to re-center after a meridian flip, rather than first doing a plate solve to get the current coordinates before a flip, then flipping and centering on the solved coordinates.
If dithering in the current way, the solved coordinates will be slightly different from the target’s coordinates so the re-center will always be off some. Also, for mounts like AP’s that can be set to stop tracking when they hit a meridian limit, the plate solve always fails since the mount isn’t tracking anymore. Subsequent plate solves in Recovery Mode will also fail since the mount is no longer tracking.
Without the initial plate solve it wouldn’t matter if the mount has stopped tracking.

1 Like

I guess I don’t understand. I use an AP 900. I am fairly new to SGP and do not pretend to fully understand all functions, but so far as I know, the initial plate solve (PS) before a meridian flip is simply to assure PlateSolve2 (PS2) and the mount have the best position information before flipping. After the flip it does a PS to find out where it is after the flip and then does subsequent PSs to center the target. So far as I know, centering is based on the target position you input and is not affected by dithering at all. Of course, how closely this matches the actual position will depend on the tolerance limits you input. For example, my tolerance is 25 pixels, so once it gets within 25 pixels, SPG declares victory and resumes the sequence. With my mount this takes one additional PS. So worse case, I suppose, is that I might be as much as 50 pixels off of my pre-flip position on the chip. I would also guess that the tighter the tolerance, the more PSing might be required to satisfy PS2.