Using Solve and Sync

Hi
I’m very new to astrophotography. From comments on Stargazers Lounge, people are definitely recommending SGPro. And I’m starting to see why. I love it.

Following tutorials and the First Week with SGPro PDF, I have managed to take a very quick sequence of focussed, guided images.

However, I have quite a newbie question:- I have the Celestron AVX mount. Once polar aligned, I used to do a GoTo say M42 and the mount would track the object indefinitely.

Is a “Solve and Sync” in SGPro the same thing? Eg will SGPro tell the mount to track the object it has solved?

Thanks
Joe

It will stop once it completes the number of frames specified for the object(s) then it will park the mount.
If it is not imaging, it is parked or tracking is off as safety measure. Folks are unhappy when mount track into the pier or something else.

You can always add a few more frames to sequence and continue ( even the next day).

I assume that you are talking about the beginning of a sequence, not the end.

No. “Solve and Sync” will take an image wherever the mount is pointed, run a plate solve, and then sync the mount to that position. All solve and sync does is tell the mount where it is pointed. If the mount is not already tracking then I don’t believe that it will start tracking after a solve and sync, but I’m not sure how the AVX behaves.

Different mounts behave differently. A G11 will start tracking when the mount it slewed to a star or object. A Mach1 will unpark as soon as the computer connects to the mount and start tracking immediately.

What I do is power on the mount, slew to a star or object away from the pole which starts the mount tracking, then solve and sync to tell the mount exactly where it is pointing. There’s no need to center a star at all; solve and sync will get the exact position and then tell the mount exactly where it is pointed.

Thanks