Using the new Celestron Focus Motor

I’m thinking about buying the new Celestron Focus Motor for SCT and EdgeHD - 94155. The reviews seems positive but I really haven’t heard from anyone about how well it works with SGPro. I have a Celestron 8" SCT and Canon 60D as my primary camera. All comments will be appreciated.

Thanks, Bob

@BobinBend

If Celestron releases a robust ASCOM driver for their new focuser, then it will work perfectly with SGP. If they don’t, then it won’t – at least not right now.

Charlie

I have the unit and am using the Celestron USB Focuser Driver (ASCOM) – it works with SGP but being a newbie I have not been able to get autofocusing working yet. I’m sure it some settings I have to play with. The focus motor works just fine “manually” focusing with a Bahtinov mask. However on the C6 scope the attachment bracket leaves something to be desired because of the position of the screws. I think it would be the same on a C8 but since the scope is larger it probably won’t occlude using larger pieces of equipment as it does on the C6.

On larger scopes, the three screws to attach the orange bracket have the opposite orientation relative to the center so the ‘divot’ shown in the bracket is next to the center instead of on the outside. Three more screw holes and the bracket could be oriented the other way, I may get a spare bracket and drill them myself.

I just purchased the Celestron Focus Motor myself and spent the better part of yesterday installing it on my Celestron 8" SCT. As you can see from the photos there was a surprising amount of clearance between the orange base plate/focus motor and my large Canon 60D camera. I thought it was going to be a problem but it worked out well. I downloaded the Focuser ASCOM Driver from the Celestron website and installed it on my Windows 10 laptop.