What is SGP

Dear all,

I’m a newbie and my friend tell me to use SGP to replace the MaximDL.
I would like to clear the concept first, before move to SGP.

SGP is

• a planner and camera controller (replace the MaximDL)
  • a focusing program. (replace the FocusMax)
  • a plate solver (To find the target position.)

Mount (EQ8) —> EQAscom —> The Sky X (to control the position)

How SGP’s plate solving function to connect to The SKY X, and tell the SKY X to move to right position? This part I miss understand the concept.

Is anyone tell me how to make the connection between SGP and TSX?

One more question.
Is it a complete setup - the SGP, The SKY X, PHD2, and EQASCOM?

For goto
For photo
For Focuser
For Framing
For Autoguiding

Do I need the other program?

Thanks for help.

funoooo

Hi Funoo

You’re generally correct.

SGPro will connect to, and control your camera, filter wheel, focuser, telescope, observatory, safety and environmental monitor and provides a very comprehensive sequencing facility - and in that respect would replace Maxim and FocusMax.

SGPro interfaces with guiding programs such as PHD2 to turn guiding on and off, dither and wait to settle etc, and also with platesolve programs such as PinPoint($$), Platesolve 2 (free) and Astrometry.net (free).

With the optional framing and mosaic wizard SGPro does an excellent job of framing and mosaic layout ( I guess the clue’s in the title!? ;-)) - to the point that I no longer use a planetarium program at all, so I don’t think you need SkyX at all. SGpro will connect directly to EQAscom.

If you do want to use it, I would imagine that you just connect your scope to Sky X and SGPro - that’s what I used to do with CdC before buying the mosaic and framing wizard.

In summary - all I have running during an imaging session is SGPro and PHD2 - no need for anything else.

HTH

Steve

Dear Steve,

Thanks for your reply.

I just wonder SGPro is no Planetarium. How to point the object? Is key in Dec and Ra position?