Catalog of Bright Stars, Catalog Objects, Solar System Objects

I’m new to SGP. It is not immediately apparent to me how I can use SGP with a star and nebula catalog. I would like to be able to select perhaps Deneb and then click goto, and have it happen. Or likewise, select M13 and force a goto. Essentially, I want to duplicate the functionality of my Losmandy Gemini II that I have with the hand controller (or better). Likewise, I want to build a model, with everything synced between the SGP and Losmandy Gemini II.

Please Advise.

D.T.

SGP does not contain any planetarium functionality. You can use a 3rd party planetarium software (e.g. Cartes du Ciel or Stellarium) to connect to your mount over ASCOM and slew where ever you want. Most ASCOM mount drivers (including Losmandy Gemini) support multiple clients, so you can connect both SGP and a planetarium software to the mount at the same time.

OK, I can see where GOTO star, catalog object, planet, etc. can be considered part of Planetarium software. I don’t see where building a model, as in done in the Gemini, can be part of planetarium software. If I want to use a model, would I need to continue to use the modeling software in the Gemini and sync to SGP? Or is software for supporting a model available as an ASCOM module?

I learned to build a model with the Gemini, thinking that this is the way finding an object is done, both with Losmandy Gemini, and that other mounts would have similar software. Am I misinformed? Are things done in other ways with other mounts? Maybe I need to learn some new concepts? Especially now that I am using SGP?

D.T.