Centering between events

Hi - I’m a newbie to SGPro so apologies if I am repeating a question or am missing something obvious. I was imaging Helix over the last weekend with 150 lights over 5 filters and the image slowly rotated across the page as the phd2 settling and dither caused delays. Can we add an option to re-centre after each event so that we could pull the image back into frame. Helix is quite big and hence a little movement moved it quite out of centre.

David

Yep, it came up just recently. It’s caused by flexure between your imaging and guiding scope/cameras. At the moment, it doesn’t appear to possible. Feature request has been requested for this, as well as every x number of shots, or perhaps every x mins. Workaround, which is a bit cludgy, is to set up different targets with same coords and you can set SGP to recentre between targets, just not events at the moment.

One way to do this would be to create multiple targets of the same object, and make sure that “Center on when target starts” is enabled in the target settings. But, I would suggest that if you are getting that much movement over the course of one night you should check your polar alignment. Unless you have a really sloppy mount it shouldn’t move that much.

1 Like

If the image is rotating as well as moving then it’s definitely polar alignment and no amount of recentering will help with the rotation.

1 Like