New to SGP - advice on sequence management

As the title suggests, I’m new to SGP and am having some difficulty racking my head around managing sequences that are incomplete from the night before and adding new items to the sequence. Do people usually name their sequences by night (i.e. Jan 1, 2016), or by objects? I could see just having one sequence per object, but that defeats the purpose of an automated system since you have to load each sequence for running.

For example, earlier this month, I had started IC405 and got about 40% through. That leaves me with some extra time at the end of that session. I’d like to start on another object that may span several nights depending on conditions. So it appears that having incomplete sequences that have targets piggybacking off others will be a recurring theme. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

1 Like

I’m not sure I understand the problem. If you have a seqence with one partially finished target, when you reload that sequence, the target will be in the exact same state (whatever frame you finished previously are still marked as done). Then you add a new target, add location data, check the box to have SGPro auto center on it and your sequence will move to this target as soon as your old target is complete.

Thanks Ken for your response. I was thinking of keeping a historical record of what objects were done. It would be nice to have some way to manage that, either by adding profiles for targets or by selecting sequences to be run in succession (i.e. IC405 sequence, then M42 sequence, etc.)

As far as I know, there’s no means to automatically start another sequence after one has completed.

I suppose another way to segment it would be to save targets separately from sequences and add targets with all the events specified for LRGB, etc.

Thanks,
Gabe

1 Like

Gabe, glad to see you came over here.

1 Like