Settings for Brighter Image Capture

I’ve recently moved from BYEOS to SGPro acquisition software so I’m still learning about SGPro and what it can do. But over the last few nights I’ve noticed SGPros raw images that are captured have been darker (less sky objects) then what I captured through BYEOS. So I’m assuming I don’t have the SGPro settings correct.
Here’s my test results;

1. I captured 10 images of the double cluster and stacked them with DSS using BYEOS then SGPro.
  2. I brought each of the stacked images into PS-CC and converted them to JPG files (see attached).
  3. From these unaltered stacked images you can see the difference. Using PS I can brighten the SGPro image and bring out more stars but I draw out many more stars using the BYEOS stacked image.

I notice the same difference (in lack of brightness) in real-time when capturing each of the images on the BYEOS vs SGPro displays.

What am I overlooking in my setup?

If you “right click” on your image, you can choose the auto stretch that’s suitable for your raw images.
If you want to make this a permanent setting, simply open the Tools menu on the top bar, click Options at the bottom of the pull down menu and select your Auto Stretch Level preference.

Steve

Hi Steve,
Thanks for your reply. But doesn’t the Auto Stretch Level preference just affect the image that is displayed on the SGP Main Screen? Would it have an effect on the raw image that is saved as well?
Thanks again, Bob

Hi Bob,

No it doesn’t affect the raw image as they are still in their Linear state.

Steve

The problem isn’t a screen display adjustment in SGPro but some camera setting in SGPro that is reducing the amount of image dynamic range that is effecting my saved images. The images above are from the raw files in BYEOS and SGPro.

Any help someone else can give would be appreciated.
Thanks, Bob

Hi Bob