Solves at Astronometry.net but not ansvr local

I’m brand new to ANSVR (astrometry.net running locally), and although I was able to successfully install and solve plates, some all-sky solutions failed. Moreover, a plate which successfully solves at Astrometry.net, fails locally; even after nearly 30 minutes of solve attempts. The same image solves within a few minutes at Astrometry.net.

Here is my set-up:

Using ANSVR 0.20 on port 9123
default config (except I set solver time limit to 1200 seconds)
FOV:
16’ x 11’: indices 4206 (16 to 22 arcmin)
11’ @ 20%: indices 4200 (2 to 2.8 arcmin)
I am using Visual PinPoint in All-Sky solving mode (by-passing use of local reference catalogs)

After the failed attempt, PinPoint returns the message:

“All-sky solution failed: Submission 27 took over 10 minutes, something went wrong!”
(which is weird because I had set the time limit to 1200 seconds; 20 minutes).

I’ll add that using Visual PinPoint and the USNO A2.0 reference catalog will solve the plate in seconds.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Are you sure you installed all the required catalogs? I have never had local Astrometry.net fail to solve for me.

Hi. Thanks for looking and your question. I have indices 4200 though to and including 4206 downloaded and available to ANSVR. I double-checked the data directory, \cygwin_ansvr\usr\share\astrometry\data and see 264 files (plus the ic and ngc files); the same number shown at Index of /~dstn/4200

I’m still trying to figure out the variables involved by carefully going through the solve results (if any) using the local astrometry.net (ANSVR) v. remote astrometry.net. Locally, I am getting a 30% solve rate. I’m still working on the rate that remote astromentry.net gives.

I’m glad to learn from you that you’ve never had local astromentry.net fail to solve. There is hope, for me :wink: